Ross McHenry is a composer, bass player and record producer whose work forms a part of the ongoing international discourse on creative improvised music, its history and it’s future. His original compositions encompass a broad range of styles including jazz, afrobeat, contemporary electronic and sample based music. Ross’ work reflects the unique and changing cultural landscape of Australian creative music and aims to explore the idea of modern Australian cultural identity within the context of an increasingly interconnected global musical landscape. Known for his work in Australia as the leader of afro-jazz ensemble Shaolin Afronauts and as a solo artist Ross has performed extensively around Australia and traveled the world collaborating with many artists including Mark de Clive Lowe, Myele Manzanza, Marcus Strickland, Corey King, Duane Eubanks, Tivon Pennicott, Eddie Bo and Marva Whitney. Ross has performed at many of the worlds leading arts festivals including Glastonbury, The Sydney Festival, The Adelaide Festival, Womadelaide, Falls Festival, Wellington International Jazz Festival and the Melbourne International Jazz Festival. 

"withering brilliance and overpowering musicality"

"the spirit of Jaco Pastorius is alive in McHenry’s playing"


“The Future of Australian Jazz”


"Absurdly Prolific"


"McHenry's got a style that's visionary"


"A formidable force in modern Australian jazz"


“Ross McHenry is a musician of immense talent and vision”


Winner Jazz/Art Music Award 2017, South Australian Music Awards

Recipient Marten Bequest scholarship 2017

Winner best Jazz Artist Fowlers Live Music Awards 2014 (South Australian Music Industry Awards)

Winner achievement award for contribution to SA music, Fowlers Live Music Awards 2014


As a solo artist

The Outsiders (First Word Records 2017)

Child of Somebody (First Word Records 2016)

Distant Oceans (First Word Records 2013)

With Shaolin Afronauts

Follow the Path (Freestyle Records 2014)

Quest Under Capricorn (Freestyle Records 2012)

Flight of the Ancients (Freestyle Records 2011)