Back to All Events

Gigs at Grainger 1: Now Meets Now

  • Grainger Studio 91 Hindley Street Adelaide, SA, 5000 Australia (map)

Ross McHenry - Curator & Electric Bass 
Matthew Sheens - Piano 
Adam Page - Conductor

In a first, the award-winning composer and bassist Ross McHenry teams up with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra for a specially curated concert celebrating the unique and changing cultural landscape of Australian creative music.

Gigs at Grainger 1 features two World Premieres:  a major new work written by Ross McHenry for improvising piano and the ASO featuring acclaimed Adelaide born, New York-based pianist Matthew Sheens. Born out of a longstanding musical relationship between McHenry and Sheens this music highlights Sheens incredible capacity as an improviser, paired with McHenry’s unique soundscape.  Also, a new symphonic work written by Matthew Sheens plus music from the Ross McHenry Trio featuring Matthew Sheens and Josh Baldwin.


Earlier Event: November 26
Vardan Ovsepian/Ross McHenry Quartet